Homemade Laundry Detergent

The most exciting thing about making your own laundry detergent is the money you will be saving!  All the materials you will need can be found at Walmart for about $10 (you will have some left over for the next batch) and since you only use 2 tablespoons per wash load this batch should last you a LONG time!  It’s low suds, so, from what I hear, it should be just fine in HE washing machines.

MATERIALS NEEDED:

– 6 cups Borax
– 4 cups baking soda
– 4 cups washing soda
– 4 cups Fels-Naptha bar soap  2 bars)
– large bucket/bowl
– Mason Jars

…AND AWAY WE GO…

B54I7683

1.  GRATE:  Unwrap the Fels-Naptha soap and finely grate using a cheese grater.  If you leave the soap out (unwrapped) to dry you can use a food processor to save you some arm ache.

2.  MIX: In the large bucket mix Borax, baking soda, washing soda and grated Fels-Naptha soap.  MIX WELL.

3.  STORE: Divide the soap into the mason jars and screw the lids on tight.  Place them in the pantry or washroom until ready for use.  Yields 4-1 pint mason jars (I only had 1/2 pint jars at the time, but I will be transferring them into larger jars).

4.  WASH:  Use 2 tablespoons per load.

B54I7687

OR MAYBE THIS:  Replace your fabric softener by adding vinegar to the rinse cycle and save ALL your laundry money for something fun!

UPDATE (sep 26, 2013):  ADD A SMALL BOTTLE OF DOWNEY UNSTOPABLES.  I USE THE “FRESH” SCENT (BLUE BOTTLE).  IT ADDS EVEN MORE YUMMY “FRESH” SMELL AND A BEAUTIFUL POP OF COLOR!

OpenZoomLayer

Don’t forget to SUBSCRIBE and “Like” Fishtitch on Facebook to find out what’s coming up on the blog, updates and even more tutorials.

FEATURED:

Lil\'Luna
Link Party 109 Features

12 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. Pingback: DIY Soap Recipes: From Laundry Detergent to Body Wash

  2. Can you use this recipe in a high efficiency washer? I read using detergent not designed for he washers will ruin the machine.

    • Hi Desiree! From what I have read, he washers require a low suds detergent. This soap is very low suds, so based on what I have read, it should be just fine. I’ve heard plenty of people say they have he washers and use homemade detergent recipes with no problems. I hope that helps!!

  3. I’m curious…Do you use hot or warm water, to wash your clothes? Do you use cold water, at any time? Have you had any problems, with the soap dissolving, using cold water, if you do? I make my own detergent, but make liquid. It would be so much easier, to make the powdered kind, but I do use cold water, sometimes. There are times that I use hot or warm, so I don’t think those times would pose any problems. Thanks for your help and info!

    • I use mostly cold water (we have a lot of darks) and I haven’t had any problems with it dissolving. I will keep an extra close watch to see how quickly it dissolves the next load of wash I do 🙂

      I have been curious about making liquid detergent and I believe it will be the next venture I embark upon. I will let you know how it goes and if you have any pointers let me know!

  4. Pingback: Link Party 109 Featuers

  5. Pingback: Organization: 20 Ways To Use Mason Jars + Free Printable | Bry Diy

What do you think?

