Twine Christmas Trees

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been into twine lately. It’s got that rustic feel but in the right setting it can be very modern.

I know there’s a plethora of these cone tree tutorials, but most seem to incorporate glitter in some form and if you remember from my previous posts, I’m not that big on glitter. Anyhow, I hope this will provide a fresh perspective.

ChristmasTwintTrees_DIY_Fishtitch

MATERIALS NEEDED:

– 3 styrofoam cones (varying in size)
*UPDATE:  paper mache cones will also work great*
– Twine
– Tacky glue

…AND AWAY WE GO…

1. GLUE: Starting at the base, squeeze on some glue all the way around. I did about 2-3 inches at a time.

B54I7585

2. WRAP: Start from the base and wrap the twine around the cone. Wrap and wrap and wrap. When you reach the top, coil the twine from the outside inward.

B54I7588

3. CUT: Trace the base of the cone on a piece of felt, cut it out and glue to the base of the cone. This will give a more finished look and help prevent sliding and scratching the surfaces you put your trees on.

B54I7592

OR MAYBE THIS: If you feel like you need a bit of color take some colored string (perhaps green or red) and wrap a bit around as if it were the garland on the tree. If you like the monotone color palette, add a gold star to the top for a real Christmas tree feel.

SIDE NOTE: For years I’ve been looking for a Christmas tablecloth that fits my personality and style. This weekend I took a visit to Target and what was waiting for me…..the perfect tablecloth! It’s adorable, I just love it! After all these years…I was so excited, I had to share my find.

CarnivalPosters

;

Don’t forget to SUBSCRIBE and “Like” Fishtitch on Facebook to find out what’s coming up on the blog, updates and even more tutorials.

FEATURED
The 36th Avenue – 25 Handmade Christmas Decorations

2 thoughts on “Twine Christmas Trees

What do you think?

