My Flowers Don’t Smell Like Roses

I mentioned previously the fabric flowers I made for my wedding, my real, kick in the pants, introduction to DIY.  It was fun, exciting, inspiring, challenging, overwhelming, and brought me to tears more than once.

When I first has the thought of a fabric flower bouquet I thought I’d find someone who’s seasoned in the art of flower making.  After some searching I found the perfect bouquet, but when I sent an email to the creator she politely declined and informed me that she wasn’t taking any more orders due to maternity leave.  At first I was upset; it was the second time I’d had my heart set on a floral solution that wasn’t going to work out.  I finally got over the wedding flower blues, picked myself up, and thought, maybe I can do it!  I scoured the internet for fabric flower tutorials.  Days went into this process, but I finally found three different types of flower tutorials that I liked, sketched out my plans, and committed by taking a trip to the fabric store.

Naturally, I poorly planned and estimated the amount of time it would take me to complete one bridal bouquet, a toss bouquet, 4 bridesmaids bouquets, the grooms boutonniere and 3 groomsmen boutonnieres.  I was working up to the last minute; literally, the day of the wedding I was adding the finishing touches, but  after months and weeks worths of hours, I had beautiful, vintage inspired, unique floral pieces for my wedding.

My Wedding Flowers:

     

     

I received so many compliments the day of our wedding and encouraging words during the weeks and months that followed,  that I now offer my creative talent to others so they may have a unique (less expensive) alternative to traditional floral decor for their wedding (or home).

I know this adventure will keep me on my creative toes.  Oh the possibilities!

Recent order:  Beach Themed

     

     

If you are interested in an order or would like to see more images please visit my Etsy store.

One thought on “My Flowers Don’t Smell Like Roses

What do you think?

